National Honor Society Induction Ceremony

46 Students Inducted into National Honor Society

Archbishop Williams recently inducted 40 juniors and 6 seniors into the National Honor Society (NHS). The ceremony was held in the School’s auditorium.

“Today you join an elite society. Today you realize the potential that you showed when you were accepted as freshmen.” said President Dennis M. Duggan, Jr. “It is with great pride that I add my congratulations to the Archbishop Williams National Honor Society Class of 2014.”

NHS is the nation's forerunner in the recognition of exceptional high school students. Founded in 1921, NHS’s charter asserts four main objectives: "To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools." The Sisters of Charity of Nazareth founded the Nuntii Veritatis Chapter of the NHS at AWHS in the 1950’s.

The auditorium was filled with parents, grandparents, siblings, friends, faculty, staff, coaches, students and the AWHS student body. The ceremony included short speeches from the five NHS Officers of the 2014-2015 academic year:  Kiera Dwyer (President), Matthew McCaughey (Vice President), Jared Hudgins (Secretary), Jenna Troderman (Treasurer), and Emily Matthews (Tutor Chairperson). Individual inductees also publicly recognized teachers who made a lasting impression on their lives.

“Induction into the National Honor Society is more than just having a strong G.P.A.,” said Principal Dr. Michael R. Volonnino. “It is an honor. You are here today because of your hard work and dedication.”

Inductees have demonstrated sustained commitment to the four NHS ideals of Character, Leadership, Scholarship and Service. They have also maintained a minimum GPA of 3.4.  

2014 Inductees include:

*Designates Senior

Jonathan Allen

Claire Archdeacon

Kailin Bell

Luke Bernasconi

Alexandria Bolduc

Karly Bowen

Nicolas Brown

Jenna Clark

Juliette Donahue

Emily Fleming

Lucas Flint

Meghan Gaudet

Sarah Golden

Jonathan Hamilton

Jason Lamie

Megan Laurie

Uyen Le*

Jie Liu*, International Student

Shiyu Mao*, International Student

Katherine McCormack

Bryan McMahon

Meghan McMahon

Ashley McManus

Rachel McManus

Casey McPartlin

Hanna Monahan

Jenna Naughton

Kelli O’Brien*

Mikaela O’Brien*

Christopher Pascarelli

Justin Pinto

Kathleen Pumphrey

Victoria Putnam

Mia Rioles

Brianna Roy

Jack Ruprecht

Jaclyn Shuttleworth

Jennifer Smeloff

Erin Snow

Yasmine Sudhu

Mikayla Sullivan

Seidu Sumani

Francis Tran

Katelyn Vinay

Tayler Wornum*

Zhenliang Zhu, International Student