54 Students Inducted into the National Honor Society

BRAINTREE, MA NOVEMBER 9––Archbishop Williams High School (AWHS) inducted 51 juniors and 3 seniors into the National Honor Society (NHS) on November 6. It was the largest class in five years and 22 more inductees than last year.

“More than one third of the junior class has been inducted today. That’s tremendous performance,” said President Dennis M. Duggan Jr. “Today you join an elite society. Today you realize the potential that you showed when you were accepted as freshmen.”

NHS is the nation's forerunner in the recognition of exceptional high school students. Founded in 1921, NHS’s charter asserts four main objectives: "To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools." The Sisters of Charity of Nazareth founded the Nuntii Veritatis Chapter of the NHS at AWHS in the 1950’s.

The auditorium was filled with parents, grandparents, siblings, friends, faculty, staff, coaches, students and the sophomore class. The ceremony included short speeches from the five NHS Officers of the 2012-2013 academic year: Richard Chaudhary (President) of Quincy, MA, Taila Petersen (Vice President) of E. Bridgewater, Miranda Milne (Secretary) of E. Bridgewater, MA, Christine Chase (Treasurer) of Cohasset, MA, and Monica Nowak (Tutor Chairperson) of Braintree, MA. Individual inductees also publicly recognized teachers who made a lasting impression on their lives.

"These students don't just read books, study hard, and ace tests. They lead. They serve. They inspire. They lift us all,” said Principal Carmen Mariano.

Inductees have demonstrated sustained commitment to the four NHS ideals of Character, Leadership, Scholarship and Service. They have also maintained a minimum GPA of 3.4.  

Inductees include:

Caroline Aborn, Plymouth, MA

Jacqueline Bloomer, Hanover, MA

Julie Bloomer, Quincy, MA

Courtney Burke, Milton, MA

Meaghan Carnell, Weymouth, MA

Emily Casper, South Boston, MA

Kyle Compton, Hanover, MA

Shannon Connolly, Braintree, MA

Olivia Conrad, Hanover, MA

Brendan Costello, Braintree, MA

Erin Crowley, Weymouth, MA

Ashley Dallaire, E. Bridgewater, MA

Thammatida Dandhanin, Quincy, MA

John Dunford, Quincy, MA

Izabela Eljaszuk, Randolph, MA

Adam Ferreira, Plymouth, MA

Emily Frazer-Tully, Weymouth, MA

Steven Gilbert, Quincy, MA

Benjamin Hamilton, E. Bridgewater, MA

Hugh Healey, Marshfield, MA

Bridget Higgins, Randolph, MA

Stephanie Hunter, Canton, MA

Stephen Jenner, Abington, MA

Christopher Kardok, Norwell, MA

Caitlin Kearney, Rockland, MA

Colin Kendall, Plymouth, MA

Catalina Kirk, Weymouth, MA

Patrick Lacey, Weymouth, MA

Kenneth Lofstrom, E. Bridgewater, MA

Olivia Mahidashti, Stoughton, MA

Justin Mancovsky, Lakeville, MA

Kristen Manning, Randolph, MA

Liam Mansfield, Braintree, MA

Mark Mascheri, W. Bridgewater, MA

Richard McAllister, Scituate, MA

Bryan McCormack, Quincy, MA

Victoria McIntyre, Abington, MA

Nicholas Menzel, Raynham, MA

Jonathan Mobilia, Plymouth, MA

Jessica Muscato, Quincy, MA

Nicholas Neville, Braintree, MA

Mohini Patel, Plymouth, MA

Renee Patten, Quincy, MA

Cameron Pendersen, Raynham, MA

Kylan Philbert-Richardson, Randolph, MA

Erika Pradieu, Randolph, MA

Julia Pumphrey, Weymouth, MA

Liam Rose, Marshfield, MA

Jade Stern, Weymouth, MA

Taylor Stewart, Quincy, MA

Joseph Tulip, Abington, MA

Jennie Walker, Rockland, MA

Ryan Wallace, Holbrook, MA

Jocelyn Wilbur, Braintree, MA