AWHS Inducts New Members into the National Honor Society

Archbishop Williams inducted 49 new members (42 Juniors and seven Seniors) into its Nuntii Veritatis Chapter of the National Honor Society. The inductees earned their spot by maintaining a 3.6 GPA for Juniors, a 3.4 GPA for Seniors, and upholding the NHS ideals of scholarship, character, leadership, and service. They join the 58 members inducted last year.  NHS is the nation's foremost organization in the recognition of exceptional high school students. Founded in 1921, NHS’s charter asserts four main objectives: "To create enthusiasm for scholarship, to stimulate a desire to render service, to promote leadership, and to develop character in the students of secondary schools." The Sisters of Charity of Nazareth, the School’s founding Order, established the Nuntii Veritatis Chapter of the NHS at AWHS in the 1950’s. 

The ceremony included a welcome from NHS Student Board Officers: President Michael Matthews (Abington), Vice President Jonathan Deeley (Halifax), Secretary Adam Carr (Holbrook), and Treasurer Cameron Dean (Weymouth). The NHS Student Board members addressed the incoming members and through personal stories and quotes challenged them to be the best they can be and set their goals high in each area that the National Honor Society values. Individual inductees also publicly recognized teachers who made a lasting impression on their lives. Senior Tyler Kelly honored Math Department Chair Mr. Chris Brunner, Junior Kaylee Walsh honored Theology Teacher Mrs. Angela Lawlor and Senior Sean Keenan honored English teacher Ms. Stephanie Mariano ’08.  Concluding the ceremony, NHS Advisor and Chair of the Fine Arts Department, Mrs. Linda Derosa-Coakley challenged the newly inducted students, “Use this moment to not only celebrate your present successes at Archbishop Williams, but look at what else you can do to continue the commitment you have made towards academic success.”

“This is one of the most impactful school-wide programs of the year, that honors the achievements and accomplishments of our students” said Dr. Michael R. Volonnino, Principal.  “We hope the example of academic success set by our new class of NHS inductees will resonate with our younger students as they too strive for excellence in scholarship and service.”

The Archbishop Williams National Honor Society chapter supplies key leadership and performs important services to the school, including running an afterschool tutoring program, engaging in charitable works for those in need, running holiday food drives and providing fellow Archbishop Williams students daily examples of scholarship and academic excellence.

Congratulations to our newly inducted NHS Members:  *Denotes Senior

Stephanie Allen   Braintree
John Barry   East Bridgewater
Hannah Bell   Quincy
Caroline Bloomer   Quincy
Olivia Condon   Plymouth
Ryan Cristoferi   Hanson
Vy Doan*    Vietnam
Kimberly Dunn   Quincy
Anna Egan   Randolph
Brendan Foley   Braintree
Nicholas Glass   Weymouth
Sara Green   Braintree
Jamie Herrick    Braintree
Michael Howes   Weymouth
Sean Keenan*    Weymouth
Shannon Kelley   Quincy
Brian Kelly   Braintree
Tyler Kelly*    Weymouth
Duyen Le   Randolph
Vanessa Lorusso   Hull
Steven McCormack   Quincy
Olivia McDonnell   Quincy
James Mensching   Cohasset
Matthew Menzel   Raynham
Sophia Nitkey*    Hingham
Christina Paluzzi   Braintree
Michael Phillips   Weymouth
Mary Pumphrey   Weymouth
Margaret Racicot   Weymouth
Nicholas Riley   Weymouth
Timothy Riley*    Quincy
Matthew Roy   Braintree
Patrick Sexton   Braintree
Sydney Shuttleworth   Quincy
Erica Silvia   Braintree
Margaret Slein*    Scituate
Lindsay Stelljes   Cohasset
Chigozie Sumani   Randolph
Mary Tarpey   Cohasset
Chelsea Taxter   Readville
Callie Walsh   Weymouth
Joseph Walsh   Norwood
Kaylee Walsh   Weymouth
Catherine Woods   South Boston
Lauren Woods   South Boston
Shannon Woods   South Boston
Joe-Yee Yip   Quincy
Crystal Shaosan Zeng*   China
Daisy Xiaodian Zhang   China